Alexis Wilke's blog

Xanathar's Guide to Everything (Dungeons & Dragons)

Most beholders are isolationists who hide in deep caves.

Xanathar, however, is quite a special kind of beholder. He likes to go on adventures and collect treasures and samples of the creatures he meets. Over the years he has writte many scrolls about his finds. This guides is a collection of those scrolls. (Even if he's to make you believe he can memorize everything... after all beholders ...

A small graphic marking the end of the paragraph

Hit Points, Temporary Hit Points, Bleeding, Death Saving Throw in Dungeons & Dragons

Dungeons & Dragons makes use of hit points to represent the health of a creature. Player characters gain additional hit points as they increase their character levels. The number of hit points varies depending on the character class.

Note that monsters can also be given more or less hit points depending on the situation. As a Dungeon Master you can also "auto-kill" a monster when it gets hit. I have done that once in a while. You just don't want to kill all your player characters. It's just not fun (although once in a while it can happen...)

A small graphic marking the end of the paragraph

AFK: Vanya's Camp

Here we have a few mini-episodes which are actually jokes in the AFK: The Webseries world. I suggest you watch the other episodes first, that way you will certainly better understand the reason why Vany's has a Camp and what he's doing there.

These came out in 2017.

A small graphic marking the end of the paragraph

How are dice being used in Dungeons & Dragons


Today, Dungeons & Dragons are rule books. However, to a minimum, if you actually want to play D&D, you need to get a set of dice. One set is 7 dice of various sizes as described in detail here.

These sizes are:

  • 1d4
  • 1d6
  • 1d8
  • 1d10 (x2)
  • 1d12
  • 1d20

Today, a set generally includes two 1d10 dice. One for the units and one for the tenth. ...

A small graphic marking the end of the paragraph

AFK The Webseries: Awakening

This is a mini webseries posted on YouTube.

If you have not yet seen the episodes I and II posted in 2015, then please go check that video first. It's here: AFK: The Webseries. The Awakenings videos are happening more or less along the episodes I, II, and III.

The storyline is a set of people playing a video game in a world similar to Dungeons & Dragons get sucked in the game and they ...

A small graphic marking the end of the paragraph

How do you choose your dice for Dungeons and Dragons games?

Type of Dices in Dungeons and Dragons

Since 1974, Dungeons and Dragons, and many other Role Playing and other games since then, adopted a set of 5 dice. These included:

  • 4 sided die (1d4)
  • 6 sided die (1d6)
  • 8 sided die (1d8)
  • 12 sided die (1d12)
  • 20 sided die (1d20)

The game uses the various dice to spice the play role gaming with varying randomness.

For ...

A small graphic marking the end of the paragraph

AFK: The Webseries

There is this mini series, call AFK: Webseries, that came out on Nov 15, 2015. The story: A bunch of computer RPG (Role Playing Game) players get sucked in the fantasy world they are playing that night. The series starts with each one awakening as their characters. They have a headacke which disappear fairly quickly and then realize that they are their character...

Note for those who don't ...

A small graphic marking the end of the paragraph